September 24, 2014

  • Nachos are da bomb

    I just had nachos for breakfast.   Nutritional value - zero.   Personal satisfaction value - ten.   I'd call that a win.

    I made a discovery about myself a few months ago.   Well actually my kids pointed it out, and I was enlightened.    I am an introvert.   I did not know that because I am not shy.  But I do love being alone.   Anyway, according to the internet I am a classic introvert.   What does that mean to me now?  Not much but now I'm aware of why I love peace and quiet and ME time so much.

    Poor pup is still wearing his cone.   His breed are known as 'leaners' meaning they love to lean on people.   You know, you see them sitting up, tail wagging, leaning on the leg of their person?  Well he keeps trying to lean on me with that damn cone and a few times he's come in too quickly on just the wrong angle and that cone jams into my calf hard.   It actually really hurts!  Between that and him banging into EVERYthing in our house as he lumbers along, both him and I can hardly wait for the cone to be off.  I'm also really glad he's neutered now.   He was starting to try to hump everything - even the air.  It was embarrassing and kind of gross!  Poor little teenaged boy - puberty hit him with a brick.

    I'm excited because for the first time in decades, yes decades,  I get to spend some time doing things I've always fantasized about.   I had a lot of fun raising the kids, but it was busy and about them.  And I did NOT manage my free time well back in the day.  And then as the kids got older and I was working, there was NO free time.  Especially with Cahuna gone so much.   And then the flood hit and that pretty much took over a year of my life.   A year and a bit.  I'm still dealing with the tail end of insurance and some government assistance.   But I DO have my house back now.  No workmen coming and going anymore.  I don't have a job ( YES!! fist pumped twice there) My older kids have mostly flown the coop.  My husband is back out of town and it's just me and my youngest and she's a busy kid.  So....here are some of the things I always fantasized about doing:

    -Going for big long walks with a big friendly dog ( check)

    -exercising regularly (check)

    - taking a yoga class ( check)

    - trying a Bible Study out ( check)

    - paying attention to current events ( check)

    - reading regularly ( check)

    - pottery or ceramic type crafts ( have scoped out location)

    - learning to make those quick rag quilts ( still need to buy a sewing machine but I will)

    - cooking food that I WANT to eat, not rushing cuz I have to have someone out the door in five minutes.  Food that doesn't involve noodles, soup and a meat.  ( working on this with Pintrest's help)

    - learning to crochet ( check)

    - dog obedience classes ( today I will call...I have a number)

    -watching a movie in the middle of the afternoon ( soon)

    - naps ( check)

    This is what I used to fantasize about and now it's happening.  I am pretty darn excited about this.

    I just burped nachos.   Maybe having them first thing in the morning wasn't the best idea.  Especially before I go for a run.   I'll pop an antacid just in case.  Sometimes my stupidity and lack of foresight astounds even me.

    Have a good day!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories